Day 20: Left to Rust

Today is day 20 – the half way point. So far we’ve had sunsets, bridges, breakages, more sunsets, castles, museums and a couple more sunsets. Today isn’t a sunset day.

Whilst walking the dog round the Cammo Estate (on the West side of Edinburgh) yesterday afternoon we came across this long forgotten piece of machinery and I liked how it was slowly rusting as it was being consumed by the vegetation. I would say symbolic of, or a metaphor for, something, but as to what that something would be eludes me – my imagination appears to have taken the day off.Cammo, Edinburgh, Rust, machinery

Cr

3 thoughts on “Day 20: Left to Rust

  1. I like images like this. It makes me feel like elements of civilisation are being reclaimed by nature, and makes me wonder how long it would take the wild to recolonise cities if all the people vanished.

    “In the world I see – you are stalking elk through the damp canyon forests around the ruins of Rockefeller Center. You’ll wear leather clothes that will last you the rest of your life. You’ll climb the wrist-thick kudzu vines that wrap the Sears Tower. And when you look down, you’ll see tiny figures pounding corn, laying strips of venison on the empty car pool lane of some abandoned superhighway.” – Fight Club

    I can be a bit weird.

    • Yes, I know what you mean. I took it because I liked how the grass had wrapped itself around the rusting metal.
      I also love that you quoted – very fittingly – from Fight Club, I absolutely love that book.
      Cr

  2. Pingback: Day 39: Spring is Definitely Here (and about time too!) | What do you see when you stare out the window?

Leave a Reply

