Instagrammers Anonymous: Books, Blackness and Bond

 

 

It’s been a quick week, hasn’t it? Doesn’t feel that long since I was last writing a instagram-y review of last week. Anyway, this week’s slightly delayed (because of James Bond Day) round-up is here – it’s a mixed bunch, but when is Instagrammers Anonymous not?

Last weekend we took a trip out to Blackness – it’s about 10 mins west of Edinburgh’s city boundary – and were greeted by incredibly strong winds and this incredible view.
Forth Bridges from Blackness CastleOf all the things I’ve been told recently I think the most bewildering is when the woman sitting next to me on the bus on Wednesday evening told me that my choice of reading material was “odd”. I really don’t think it is – am I just losing the plot? Interesting, I learnt on that same bus journey (from the two chav-lettes sitting behind me) that “Jimmy’s missus has got the clap, but she’s no tellin’ ‘im”. The things you learn on buses…

Michael Palin's around the world in 80 days, paperbackJust like last year (and I imagine every year to come) there’s now a crunchy carpet around the streets as the leaves begin falling. I was greated by this flame-coloured puddle when trying to avoid the smell of paint in my office one lunch time.

Red and orange leaves in a puddle

As previously mentioned (several times) Friday was James Bond Day – the 50th anniversary of the premier of Dr No. It seemed almost rude not to watch it.

Dr No DVD cover

I’ve no idea what’ll feature next week or what I’m even doing – apart from my first very attempt to bake with yeast – but whatever you do I hope you enjoy it.

Cr

7 thoughts on “Instagrammers Anonymous: Books, Blackness and Bond

  1. If that’s your choice of reading material I don’t see any way in which it could be described as “odd”. You know Palin’s thing about Brazil will be on soon? I’m looking forward to that.

    I’m making cheese and spinach scones this weekend. They are much nicer than they sound. I don’t do yeast.

    • Exactly, I definitely don’t think it’s odd. I read something about it the other day, his series are always fascinating. Do you know when it’s starting? The sound interesting… I’m not a big cheese scone person, but they do sound quite interesting. Nor do I usually, we’ll have to wait and see how it turns out…

      • I don’t know exactly. In fact I’m just assuming it’ll be on the BBC, maybe when that Andrew Marr thing is finished. I’m just making this up completely. We won’t miss it, it’ll be trailed enormously, surely.

        Interesting is the right word for scones with vegetables in. Actually, as much as anything, they’re to use up the veg before it goes off, because I live on my own and don’t get through large bags of the green stuff and don’t like most ways of cooking it from frozen. Any way of getting more veg into ones gob is a viable culinary option, I feel.

  2. Oooo I’m intrigued by the yeast experiment! With the exception of stollen, yeast and I don’t get on terribly well, as you know (genau), so I’m always jealous of people who can get it to work.

    • Well, it went quite well – I made 28 on Sunday and there are (as of 8 on Tuesday evening) 2 left… – it’ll no doubt be blogged about soon. It didn’t rise nearly as much as I’d hoped, but I’d bake with it again.

Leave a Reply

